Tags

, , , , , ,

tahoe california vacation

LAKE TAHOE CALIFORNIA SNOW

road to lake tahoe winter snow

BURIED IN THE SNOW BEAUTIFUL KAYEKIE

LAKE TAHOE HEAVENLY MOUNTAIN LOOKOUT SUNSET

Heavenly Mountain Lookout Lake Tahoe

Lake Tahoe Heavenly Mountain California

LAKE TAHOE CALIFORNIA SNOW LAKESIDE

TAHOE SNOW

SNOW

Heavenly Village Tahoe

Heavenly Village Lake Tahoe CA

Heavenly Village Gondola Lake Tahoe California

Marriot Grand Residences Lake Tahoe

TAHOE SNOW DEER

Heavenly Village Fire Pits Tahoe

Heavenly Mountain Lookout

DRIVE TO LAKE TAHOE CALIFORNIA SNOW

My Kids Enjoying Lake Tahoe in the snow!

Lake Tahoe Winter Vacation

If heaven on earth truly existed, it would be a place like Lake Tahoe, California. The first time I experienced the beauty of the area was in the fall, years ago. Now add to that snow as far as the eye can see, and you have my idea of something I can only describe as true happiness.

This officially marks the first look back at our family holiday in December and January, albeit completely out of order. We visited Tahoe a week or two after arriving. I have more photos than you can poke a stick at, so what better way to kick off with these. I was silly with happiness over the fact we were surrounded by real snow. The, ‘buried up to your knees, smooth as silk, freeze your face off’, kinda stuff. I’ve heard time and time again how you quickly you grow tired of the cold, but I honestly don’t know if I could. To me, it’s like living on another world.

Just days earlier we had been lucky enough to experience full blown snow on the adventure to collect our christmas tree at Apple Hill (holy balls, a real tree that isn’t a tropical palm like I had as a kid!). And just like that day, on the way back up the mountain I was glued to the car window sighing and gasping at every inch of the pristine wonderland flying by. It was the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen. By far!

We spent a few jam-packed days in Tahoe, staying at the base of Heavenly mountain. Exploring, ice skating, toasting by the fire pits and drinking more Starbucks than is humanly possible. So many memories, not enough time to recount them all! I still have a bag full of skee-ball tickets that we never got the chance to exchange. That slinky was MINE.

And then of course there was the gondola ride to the top of Heavenly. No words could truly do justice to describing the view from up there. Just close your eyes and think of the most peaceful, breathtaking view you can imagine. Mountains, water and sky as far as the eye can see. I only wish I had more time to go back again and again. And again.

The first time I visited Tahoe I fell in love. This time it became so much more than that. If that is even possible. The look on my childrens faces the entire time was something I’d never seen. It was really, really, special.

I hope you enjoyed the photos! Till part two…

