Tags

, , , , , , ,

Garnier Dark Spot Corrector Four Week Trial

Let’s have an honest moment ladies, my skin is far from perfect. You think I’m bullshitting right? Sure, I’m handy with a bag full of makeup and some crafty lighting tricks, but the truth is behind all of that there are things I am incredibly self-conscious about. Large pores, acne scarring, broken capillaries, and pigmentation. You name it, my skin’s got it. And against my inner shy self who is screaming ‘Noooooo!’, I’m going to do the unthinkable show the world my skin without makeup. Gulp.

This may be a beauty blog, but let’s get real. We are all human, and no one is perfect. The number one reason I started blogging was to help everyone find the right products, because trust me, I know what its like to want to know every detail about something because it may be the difference between a good day or a crappy one. Silly but true. Hands up if you know what I’m talking about.

So, when I first saw Garnier Dark Spot Corrector in magazines I did a double take. It’s claiming all these wonderful effects and it’s inexpensive? Is it too good to be true? In the name of skin confidence for women everywhere, I had to try it. I am the perfect guinea pig, and I’m prepared to stick with it for at least four weeks to give it genuine test run.

Garneir Dark Spot Corrector

Top Two Reasons I Wanted To Try:

1 – I have two large, dark pigmentation areas around 2cm+ in size on both sides of my cheeks, next to my nose. They completely ruin my day, to put it bluntly. Tip: If your ever looking for a quick way to feel awful, measure the size of your pigmentation. It’ll knock you off that branch quick smart.

2 – It’s affordable. And that is something that is paramount. I’m a big fan of good-quality, accessible skincare. Yes, everyone can improve their skin problems, there’s a treatment out there for just about everything. But is it affordable to everyone?

https://i0.wp.com/i1176.photobucket.com/albums/x340/BeautifulKayekie/DSC_0047SIG_zps48d1e65e.jpg

Garnier Dark Spot Corrector

  • Texture: It feels a nice mix of gel/cream.
  • Feel: Minimal stickiness. Once absorbed it is fairly touchable and not uncomfortable. It’s not 100% silky smooth to touch, but still nice and far better than other Vitamin C topical treatments I have tried.
  • Moisture: Moisturises well, but lacks any real plumping (which is something I need).
  • Smell: Signature Garnier scent. Those familiar with their moisturisers will know what I mean.
  • Packaging: Metal tube

Now let me introduce you to…

Ugh, The Spots!

Right Cheek, 2cm+ in size. Basically, its BIG.

The Dark Spots:
Two years ago I noticed two dark spots on both sides of my nose. It was nothing too alarming at first, freckles don’t bother me (I have three freckles next to my right eye in fact, that I fondly call the Bermuda Triangle). But then I noticed the spots near my nose were growing bigger, and bigger, and BIGGER. Within around six months, I had large patches of dark skin on both sides of my face and it was honestly incredibly embarrassing. I was really self-conscious about them.

I could no longer go bare-faced, and that bummed me out completely. Over time they darkened quite significantly, to the point where even my best concealer couldn’t cover them. At that point I just settled for covering them enough to hide their intensity. To say I was embarrassed with my skin was an understatement. It took my insecurities about my skin to a whole new level.

I honestly have no idea what actually caused them, so I can only guess. Sun exposure? Acne scarring? Medication? Skin equivalent to crop circles?? All I know is, I was terrified they would keep spreading and there would be nothing I could do about them, save expensive skin peels. And that’s something I don’t want to have to consider for at least another 20 years! I’m too young dammit!

The small light at the end of the tunnel: since developing the pigmentation, I have noticed they are now s-l-o-w-l-y fading on their own (thank god). I highly doubt they would disappear completely on their own, though. So given that, I have to be careful not to mistake the natural improvement of my dark patches with the effects of Garnier Dark Spot Corrector. Hence why I want to do a real trial for at least four weeks.

Ideal Outcome

Ideal Outcome

Shown below is the actual diameter and position of that which will remain unnamed! Even with makeup on, you can usually still see it. You know what makes me laugh? The pigmentation isn’t in the same place on both sides of the face! Come on! 😀

Being a complete wuss with makeup back on...

On a good day: makeup up on, with a bumpy forehead and pigmentation. Hey world, that’s me!

Week One – The First Few Days Initial Thoughts:

  • Very fresh looking
  • Clear
  • Reduced redness

I was initially interested to try it because of the big angry pigmentation on my cheeks, but I’ve actually seen an improvement in my skin overall, which was a surprise.

I also noticed that the pigmentation actually darkened, but I honestly was not surprised by this. I’ve tried brightening products before and this seems to be a typical reaction for my skin. I believe it’s a combination of the dark spots reacting to the product, as well as the brightening of the skin around it. If your face is clearer of course it makes sense they will stand out.

Basically I look like I am very hydrated, get plenty of sleep (which I don’t) and that my skin is clear and glowing. The dark spots are yet to show any real improvement, but I’m really happy with the effect it’s had on my complexion overall.

I don’t want to get ahead of myself to get everyone all hyped up, but so far I am really liking the results. the true test will be to see what the results will be after four weeks. It’s too early to honestly say what my final verdict will be, but even if my skin stayed at the clarity it has today and there wasn’t any further improvement, I certainly wouldn’t consider it a loss. In two days my skin looks better than it has in a while, and any improvement even a small one, is a win for me.

Week 1 Update

Click to view

Click to view

Garnier Dark Spot Corrector Week 3 Update

Click to view

.

The A Team

The A Team: Products I am using with Garnier Dark Spot Corrector

With any trial, it’s only fair to recognize everything involved. These other products are things I either regularly use, or have introduced to make sure the spot corrector will work the way it’s intended.

Cetaphil cleanser: this is my regular cleanser and I love it! It’s non drying and non comedogenic, which is very important for me and my breakout skin.

Olay scrub: this is a new introduction to my routine because I don’t actually have a current scrub but need one. I tried it years ago and liked it, so I thought why not.

Cetaphil sunscreen: this is probably the second most important part of this trial. A good SPF UVA UVB sunscreen is a must! You should wear one daily, but even more so if you’re trying to improve things like pigmentation. There’s no point trying to treat it if you’re doing nothing to protect your skin from developing more. And besides, some products actually require you use a good sunscreen because your skin will become extra sensitive to sun exposure while using them. I love this one particularly because it is non-comedogenic, and UVA & UVB rated.

Topical Acne treatment (not shown): I have prescription acne treatment, and without it, my skin would be in no condition to have any improvements! I live with breakouts, and this keeps my skin clear. It will also make sure that I won’t break out because of anything new I am trying. Yep. I am 30 years old and still battling pimples. I may have to request a closed casket when I die at aged 100 because I fear there’s a good chance there will be a pack of zits all over my face. Sigh.

Night Moisturiser (not shown): While the dark spot corrector gives ample hydration, it lacks any real skin plumping effects that I so desperately need. So at night, I layer it with another moisturiser. Garnier first, other moisturiser second. I wouldn’t use this combo during the day though, it’s a little heavy for that.

Garnier Dark Spot Corrector Packaging

Packaging

Garnier Dark Spot Corrector

So there you have it folks! Have you tried the spot corrector yet? What do you think?

As much as I was terrified of revealing my bare skin, there’s something very empowering about saying ‘I don’t care what anyone thinks’ and just doing it. Phew. I feel better already, magical cream or no magical cream.

😀