Tags

, , ,

Avon Ultra Color Rich Brilliance Lipstick Review & Swatches

I’m really excited to bring you some lipsticks I’ve been waiting to review for a few weeks now, Avon’s newest release here in Australia, Ultra Color Rich Brilliance Lipsticks. I’ve found more than a few favorites in their ten shades. Click to view my Mega Avon lipstick swatch review, now with 75 colours.

Note: I captured colours best as possible but they differ depending on lighting and/or flash.

Finish: Opaque-sheer, creamy
Shine: pearl, ranging from subtle to full
Wear: not long-lasting
Range: 10 shades (Australia)
Packaging: pink metal/shine

Avon Ultra Color Rich Brilliance Lipstick Swatches [1] Midnight Gleam, [2] Gilded Velvet, [3] Aurora Rose, [4] Sparkling Sable, [5] Sienna Sparkle, [6] Berry Glitz, [7] Pink Paparazzi, [8] Brilliant Ruby, [9] Rogue Luxury, [10] Crimson Twilight.

Above: [1] Midnight Gleam, [2] Gilded Velvet, [3] Aurora Rose, [4] Sparkling Sable, [5] Sienna Sparkle, [6] Berry Glitz, [7] Pink Paparazzi, [8] Brilliant Ruby, [9] Rogue Luxury, [10] Crimson Twilight.

Below: [1] Sienna Sparkle, [2] Brilliant Ruby, [3] Rogue Luxury, [4] Pink Paparazzi, [5] Midnight Gleam

Avon Ultra Color Rich Brilliance Lipstick Swatch & Review

I picked up five full-sized lipsticks, and all ten sample shades from the range to review for you all. I had a bit of a face-palm moment, I originally tested the samples when I first got them, and made full notes on each colour for the review. When the time came to finish the post I couldn’t remember for the life me which notebook I wrote it in. Ha ha. Lesson learned. Stick with your technology Kaye.

I painstakingly went through them all again, just for you lovely readers! Enjoy!

Avon Ultra Color Rich Brilliance Lipstick Swatches in Flash

Above: [1] Brilliant Ruby, [2] Rogue Luxury, [3] Crimson Twilight, [4] Pink Paparazzi, [5] Berry Glitz, [6] Sienna Sparkle, [7] Aurora Rose, [8] Gilded Velvet, [9] Sparkling Sable [10] Midnight Gleam.

Avon Ultra Color Rich Brilliance Lipsticks

Above: [L-R] Midnight Gleam, Rogue Luxury, Brilliant Ruby, Pink Paparazzi, Sienna Sparkle

Colour Breakdown:

Midnight Gleam: semi-opaque, creamy. Buildable colour to full coverage, can feather lightly into lines because of it’s consistency. Primer or lip liner is recommended. I’m a fan of this shade, the photos don’t do it justice. It’s actually a lot darker.

Gilded Velvet: opaque, pearl/frost like finish, creamy.

Aurora Rose: opaque, high pearl creamy finish. This look is very pearl/frost, and can appear sheer under flash lighting.

Sparkling Sable: opaque, pearl/frost like finish, creamy. Another shade that can appear sheer under flash lighting.

Sienna Sparkle: semi-opaque/sheer, creamy. Another shade that is fully buildable. Also another favourite for me.

Berry Glitz: semi opaque/sheer, creamy. For those wanted lighter, more buildable colour this is a shade for you. Beautiful and sheer to full.

Pink Papparrazi: opaque, creamy. I call this one Barbie pink, but not in a bad way. Great for a bold, in your face, pink. I really love this shade.

Brilliant Ruby: opaque, creamy. This is my absolute favourite from this range. It gives an immediate pop of bright colour. It is a very bright, almost cherry/strawberry, red.

Rogue Luxury: opaque, creamy. This is a darker, more classic shade of red. Something for anyone who doesn’t like bright reds, but still wants a classic.

Crimson Twilight: opaque, creamy. The darkest of their reds, this is a very deep red.

Closest True Colour Match (below)

Avon Ultra Color Rich Brilliance Lipsticks - [1] Sienna Sparkle, [2] Pink Paparazzi, [3] Brilliant Ruby, [4] Rogue Luxury, [5] Midnight Gleam

Final Verdict:
A lovely opaque finish, with a range of colours to suit all. Overall im in love with Brilliant Ruby and Sienna Sparkle. I can’t go past a brilliant red and beautiful nude. I also really liked Midnight Gleam, it’s completely out of my comfort zone, but perfect for anyone wanting dark lips. You just don’t see many dark lippies around, so this is a good find. And just in time for Halloween too. 🙂

One tiny complaint I have, was the amount of shimmer left behind when I removed the lipstick. It was very minimal, but after testing all ten shades, I was left looking a lot like a disco ball with no disco. But, unless your going to be wearing industrial amounts of this lipstick, I doubt it will be a problem for you.

Would I consider buying again? Yes.

Avon Ultra Color Rich Brilliance Lipsticks [L-R] Midnight Gleam, Sienna Sparkle, Pink Paparazzi, Rogue Luxury, Brilliant Ruby

[L-R] Midnight Gleam, Sienna Sparkle, Pink Paparazzi, Rogue Luxury, Brilliant Ruby

Avon Ultra Color Rich Brilliance Lipstick